Jury VFF Documentary Film Production Award 2020

© Carolin Otterbach

Nicole Leykauf

Producer, Managing director Leykauf Film

In 1996, producer and managing director Nicole Leykauf founded Leykauf Film, which was then merged into Leykauf Film GmbH & Co. KG Documentary Film Production.

After studying Slavic Studies and Theatre Studies in Berlin and Paris, she learned film production by working for the Paris production company Archipel 33 and the Munich Bioskop Film.

Leykauf Film has always consciously remained a small company, so that Nicole Leykauf can concentrate on the individual projects. She enjoys working alternately with more experienced filmmakers and film students. Her passion is for visually appealing cinema documentaries, but for some topics internationally exploitable television formats are more suitable. She has been a member of the German Film Academy since 2007. Occasionally she works on committees to strengthen the reputation of the documentary film.

© Dirk Ostermeier

Thomas Frickel

Author, Director and Producer

After studying German language and literature, journalism and sociology in Mainz, Frickel worked as a freelance journalist for several years, focusing on cultural reporting and historical reportage. Since 1968 he has been working in the film industry. Since 1986, Frickel has been chairman and managing director of the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Dokumentarfilm (the largest association for independent film in Germany) in various film and cultural policy functions - for example, on the administrative board and executive committee of the FFA, the administrative board of the VG Bild-Kunst, as delegate of the beneficiaries in the VG Wort, on the advisory board of the VFF and the Künstlersozialkasse, etc. For several years he was spokesman for the Film/Media section of the "German Cultural Council". Frickel was also co-founder and until 1999 member of the board of directors of the European Documentary Film Network EDN. He is author, director and producer of numerous short and feature-length documentaries.

 

Stephan Lamby

ECO Media TV, Author, Producer

Stephan Lamby studied German and English in Marburg and Hamburg. He worked as a freelance journalist in New York and as deputy editor-in-chief at Radio 107 in Hamburg. Since 1992, Stephan Lamby was deputy editor-in-chief and presenter at the television magazine der ZEIT. In 1997, he founded ECO Media TV production, where he was managing director until early 2020.
As an author, Stephan Lamby has produced numerous documentaries including "Die Notregierung - ungeliebte Koalition", "Im Labyrinth der Macht - Protokoll einer Regierungsbildung", "Bimbes - die schwarzen Kassen des Helmut Kohl" (with Egmont Koch), "Nervöse Republik", "Schäuble - Macht und Ohnmacht" as well as films about Angela Merkel, Joschka Fischer, Fidel Castro, Henry Kissinger and the jazz film "Brüder Kühn - zwei Musiker spielen sich frei".
Stephan Lamby has received numerous awards for his work, including Golden Camera, 2019, "Journalist of the Year 2018" (Medium Magazine), German Television Prize 2012 and 2018, Bavarian Television Prize 2018, Hanns-Joachim Friedrichs Prize 2014, German-French Journalist Prize 2012.

Jury VFF-Dokumentarfilm-Produktionspreis 2020

© Carolin Otterbach

Nicole Leykauf

Produzentin, Managing Director Leykauf Film

1996 gründet die Produzentin und Geschäftsführerin Nicole Leykauf die Leykauf Film, die dann 1999 in die Leykauf Film GmbH & Co. KG Dokumentarfilmproduktion gewandelt wird.

Nach einem Studium der Slawistik und Theaterwissenschaften in Berlin und Paris hatte sie die Filmproduktion durch die Arbeit bei der Pariser Produktionsfirma Archipel 33 und der Münchner Bioskop Film erlernt.

Leykauf Film ist immer bewusst eine kleine Firma geblieben, so dass Nicole Leykauf sich auf die einzelnen Projekte konzentrieren kann. Sie arbeitet gerne abwechselnd mit erfahreneren Filmemachern und Filmhochschülern. Ihre Leidenschaft gilt dem visuell ansprechenden Kino-Dokumentarfilm, für manche Themen sind aber international verwertbare Fernsehformate passender. Seit 2007 ist sie Mitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie. Gelegentlich arbeitet sie in Gremien um das Ansehen des Dokumentarfilms zu stärken.

 

 

 

© Dirk Ostermeier

Thomas Frickel

Autor, Regisseur und Produzent

Nach einem Studium der Germanistik, Publizistik und Soziologie in Mainz war Frickel mehrere Jahre lang freiberuflicher Journalist mit den Arbeitsschwerpunkten Kulturberichterstattung und historische Reportage. Seit 1968 arbeitet er im Filmbereich. Seit 1986 ist Frickel als Vorsitzender und Geschäftsführer der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Dokumentarfilm (des mitgliederstärksten Verbandes für den unabhängigen Film in Deutschland) in verschiedenen film- und kulturpolitischen Funktionen tätig – zum Beispiel im Verwaltungsrat und Präsidium der Filmförderungsanstalt FFA, in Verwaltungsrat der VG Bild-Kunst, als Delegierter der Wahrnehmungsberechtigten in der VG Wort, im Beirat der VFF und der Künstlersozialkasse etc. Mehrere Jahre lang war er Sprecher der Sektion Film/Medien des „Deutschen Kulturrats“. Außerdem war Frickel Mitbegründer und bis 1999 Vorstandsmitglied des Europäischen Dokumentarfilm-Netzwerks EDN. Er ist Autor, Regisseur und Produzent zahlreicher kurzer und programmfüllender Dokumentarfilme.

Stephan Lamby

ECO Media TV, Autor, Produzent

Stephan Lamby studierte in Marburg und Hamburg Germanistik und Anglistik. Er arbeitete als freier Journalist in New York und als stellvertretender Chefredakteur bei Radio 107 in Hamburg. Seit 1992 war Stephan Lamby beim Fernsehmagazin der ZEIT stellvertretender Redaktionsleiter und Moderator. 1997 gründete er die ECO Media TV-Produktion, deren Geschäftsführer er bis Anfang 2020 war.
Als Autor hat Stephan Lamby zahlreiche Dokumentationen hergestellt u.a. „Die Notregierung – ungeliebte Koalition“, „Im Labyrinth der Macht – Protokoll einer Regierungsbildung“, „Bimbes – die schwarzen Kassen des Helmut Kohl“ (mit Egmont Koch), „Nervöse Republik“, „Schäuble – Macht und Ohnmacht“ sowie Filme über Angela Merkel, Joschka Fischer, Fidel Castro, Henry Kissinger und den Jazz-Film „Brüder Kühn – zwei Musiker spielen sich frei“.
Stephan Lamby erhielt für seine Arbeit zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u. a.: Goldene Kamera, 2019, „Journalist des Jahres 2018" (Medium Magazin), Deutscher Fernsehpreis 2012 und 2018, Bayerischer Fernsehpreis 2018, Hanns-Joachim-Friedrichs-Preis 2014, Deutsch-Französischer Journalistenpreis 2012.