DOK.art/fair: festival work and sustainability – how can you combine the two?

Festival bags 2017

As a film festival we are dependent on information and communication technology. According to a study by the Instituts für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung this technology is responsible for over 5% of the CO2 emissions in Germany.

Sustainability means, first and foremost, rethinking things on a small scale and for each individual. With this in mind, we have initiated DOK.art/fair – the name we have given to our voluntary self-monitoring.

Alongside the obvious things in the office – waste separation, energy efficient lamps and electrics –we have been printing our programme booklet and magazine on CO2 neutral paper at BluePrint AG since 2016. We have really grown to love its matt, rough visual appearance. Who wants high gloss when we’re dealing with real life?

Our team T-shirts from fairtrademerch in Bielefeld are fairly and organically produced. The festival bags from mapbagrag in Graz are made in the region from environmentally certified recycling paper and, thanks to a special manufacturing process, are washable! Our caterer for receptions and events, Conviva, follows an inclusive plan and our drinks suppliers, Acqua Monaco, Neumarkter Lammsbräu and Kaffeerösterei Dinzler, show concern for sustainable elements such as biological and regional provenance, fair production conditions and social engagement.

As the initiator and founder of Verbands Bayerischer Filmfestivals we champion fair conditions and political transparency in festival work, among other things. In addition, we support Initiative Festivalarbeit, which campaigns for equitable and fair pay.

All this is, of course, not our last word on the subject. We are constantly working to develop new ideas and solutions and are open to exchanging ideas, suggestions and improvements. Because sustainability also means thinking further!

DOK.art/fair: Festivalarbeit und Nachhaltigkeit – wie geht das zusammen?

Festivaltaschen 2017


Als Filmfestival sind wir auf Informa­tions- und Kommunikationstechnologien angewiesen. Laut einer Studie des Instituts für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung sind diese Technologien für über 5 % Prozent der CO2-Emissionen in Deutschland verantwortlich.

Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet zunächst Umdenken im Kleinen und für jeden Einzelnen. Aus diesem Impuls heraus haben wir DOK.art/fair ins Leben gerufen – unser La­bel für freiwillige Selbstkontrolle.

Neben den Selbstverständlichkeiten im Büro – Mülltrennung, stromsparenden Leuchtmitteln und Schaltungen – drucken wir seit 2016 Programmheft und Magazin auf CO2-neutralem Papier bei der BluePrint AG. Inzwischen haben haben wir die matte, rauere Optik richtig liebgewonnen. Wer will schon Hochglanz, wenn es um das wahre Leben geht?

Unsere Team-T-Shirts von fairtrademerch aus Bielefeld werden fair und organisch produziert, die Festivaltaschen von mapbagrag aus Graz bestehen aus umweltzertifiziertem Recycling-Papier, sind regional hergestellt und – durch den speziellen Verarbeitungsprozess – waschbar! Unser Caterer für Empfänge und Veranstaltungen Conviva folgt einem integrativen Konzept und auch bei unseren Getränkelieferanten Acqua MonacoNeumarkter Lammsbräu und der Kaffeerösterei Dinzler wird auf nachhaltige Aspekte geachtet wie biologische oder regionale Herkunft, faire Produktionsbedingungen oder soziales Engagement.

Als Initator und Mitbegründer des Verbands Bayerischer Filmfestivals setzen wir uns unter anderem für faire Rahmenbedingungen und die politische Sichtbarkeit von Festivalarbeit ein, zudem unterstützen wir die Initiative Festivalarbeit, die sich für gerechte und wertschätzende Entlohnung einsetzt.

All das ist natürlich nicht der Weisheit letzter Schluss. Wir arbeiten beständig daran, neue Ideen und Lösungen zu entwickeln, sind offen für Austausch, Anregungen, Ver- und Nachbesserungen. Denn Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet auch: Weiter denken!