DOK.forum – the meeting spot for German-language documentary film

DOK.forum, the industry platform of DOK.fest München, is the meeting place for the entire German-language documentary film industry. We see ourselves as a driving force for documentary work and want to promote the socially relevant and artistically valuable documentary film in all its manifestations and development phases.

We react to the massively changing production conditions with concrete offers for all involved – directors, authors, producers, editors, sales agents and film composers. Through the cooperation with our partners from the public broadcasting sector, professional and interest associations as well as leading cultural institutions, our programming always remains geared to the needs of the industry. Particular attention is paid to the promotion of young filmmakers.

Our two programme segments DOK.forum Marketplace and DOK.forum Perspectives are closely intertwined: While the DOK.forum Marketplace brings together relevant players from the fields of editing, production and promotion with the film teams at one table, the DOK.forum Perspectives see themselves as a think tank at the interface between the involved specialist audience and the interested festival audience.

DOK.forum Marketplace

As a co-production and ideas market, the DOK.forum Marketplace invites around 100 Experts.innen and around 50 selected documentary film projects in the making to Munich every year. Through targeted matchmaking, the material finds strong, committed and passionate partners in all stadiums and competes for highly remunerated prizes and grants. In addition to focusing on the German-speaking co-production area (Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Luxembourg and South Tyrol), our English-language offerings also give international professionals access to the DOK.forum Marketplace. In addition, we annually invite a delegation from a host country – 2019 from Quebec, Canada – to Munich.

DOK.forum Perspectives

The open programme of the DOK.forum Perspectives focuses on media-political, aesthetic and technical focal points. Top-class workshops, case studies, keynotes and panels will discuss the current challenges facing the German-speaking industry and address them in concrete terms. The DOK.forum Perspectives invites all interested parties to get to know the work of renowned or up-and-coming filmmakers and to exchange ideas on new trends in documentary work.

DOK.forum – der Hotspot für den deutschsprachigen Dokumentarfilm

DOK.forum, die Branchenplattform des DOK.fest München, ist Treffpunkt der gesamten deutschsprachigen Dokumentarfilmbranche. Wir verstehen uns als Impulsgeber für dokumentarisches Arbeiten und wollen den gesellschaftlich relevanten und künstlerisch wertvollen Dokumentarfilm in all seinen Erscheinungsformen und Entstehungsphasen fördern.

Auf die sich massiv verändernden Produktionsbedingungen reagieren wir mit konkreten Angeboten für alle Beteiligten – Regisseur.innen, Autor.innen, Produzent.innen, Redakteur.innen, Sales Agents und Filmkomponist.innen. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern aus dem öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunk, Berufs- und Interessensverbänden sowie führenden kulturellen Institutionen bleibt unsere Programmgestaltung dabei stets an den Bedürfnissen der Branche ausgerichtet. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Förderung des filmischen Nachwuchses.

Unsere zwei Programmsegmente DOK.forum Marktplatz und DOK.forum Perspektiven greifen eng ineinander: Während der DOK.forum Marktplatz relevante Player aus Redaktion, Produktion und Förderung mit den Filmteams an einem Tisch zusammenbringt, verstehen sich die DOK.forum Perspektiven als Denkfabrik an der Schnittstelle von involviertem Fachpublikum und interessiertem Festivalpublikum.

DOK.forum Marktplatz

Als Koproduktions- und Ideenmarkt lädt der DOK.forum Marktplatz jedes Jahr rund 100 Expert.innen und ca. 50 ausgewählte Dokumentarfilmprojekte in Entstehung nach München ein. Über gezieltes Matchmaking finden Stoffe in allen Stadien starke, engagierte und passionierte Partner und konkurrieren um hochdotierte Preise und Förderungen. Neben dem Fokus auf dem deutschsprachigen Koproduktionsraum (Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Luxemburg und Südtirol) ermöglichen unsere englischsprachigen Angebote auch internationalen Professionals den Zugang zum DOK.forum Marktplatz. Darüber hinaus laden wir jährlich eine Delegation aus einem Gastland – 2019 aus Quebec, Kanada – nach München ein.

DOK.forum Perspektiven

Das offene Programm der DOK.forum Perspektiven stellt medienpolitische, ästhetische und technische Brennpunktthemen in den Fokus. In hochkarätig besetzten Workshops, Case Studies, Keynotes und Panels werden die aktuellen Herausforderungen der deutschsprachigen Branche diskutiert und konkret angegangen. Die DOK.forum Perspektiven laden alle Interessierten dazu ein, Arbeiten renommierter oder aufstrebender Filmemacher.innen kennenzulernen und sich über neue Tendenzen dokumentarischen Arbeitens auszutauschen.