Call for entries: – award for new narrative formats 2021

Sponsored by Bayerische Landeszentrale für neue Medien (BLM)

What are contemporary forms for journalistic-factual or documentary content? How can the possibilities of new formats be used to inspire a demanding audience?

With the award, the is looking for answers to the question of how the further development of technical possibilities affects the narration of documentary or journalistic-factual content. The aim is to encourage the emergence of new innovative projects that combine various media formats and platforms with content in a meaningful way.

Journalists, filmmakers, games designers and producers from German-speaking countries are invited to submit their completed works by 1 February 2021.

The prize is endowed with 2,500 euros and will be awarded at the Perspektiven in May 2021.

What we are looking for

We are looking for outstanding projects that open up different perspectives through new narrative forms, actively involve the audience and bring stories to life. Projects that explore the possibilities of digital media and convey journalistic factual or documentary content beyond linear narrative.

Submit now


Criteria for the submission

A project is eligible for selection for if the following requirements are met:

Submission by

  • Collective or individuals
  • Young talents with their first or second project


  • within the German-speaking area (D/A/I/CH)
  • Production period from autumn 2019 to spring 2021

Content & formal approach

  • relevant content with a documentary and/or journalistic approach
  • digital format
  • consistent linking of content and form
  • potential for meaningful interaction with the audience

Further conditions

  • Possibility of presentation within the hybrid 2021
  • Willingness to actively contribute to the alumni network upon nomination.


Submission documents and submission

Both completed and published projects can be submitted. The following documents are required and can be submitted via the DOK.fest München homepage:

  • Contact details of the submitter(s)
  • Link to view the project
  • Exposé / Project description
  • Objective of the project
  • CV of the submitter(s) / profile of the production company
  • Catalogue of works

Deadline is 1st February 2021.

Award ceremony and presentation

The award ceremony will take place as part of the at the 36th DOK.fest München (5th to 16th May 2021). Preselected projects will be presented to the public in the presence of the jury.

Contact us

Florina Vilgertshofer
Head of Perspectives