– award for new narrative formats

Sponsored by Bayerische Landeszentrale für neue Medien (BLM), endowed with 2,500 euros

What are contemporary forms for journalistic-factual or documentary content? How can the possibilities of new formats be used to inspire a demanding audience?

With the award, the is looking for answers to the question of how the further development of technical possibilities affects the narration of documentary or journalistic-factual content. The aim is to encourage the emergence of new innovative projects that combine various media formats and platforms with content in a meaningful way.

Journalists, filmmakers, games designers and producers from German-speaking countries are invited to submit their completed works.

The prize is endowed with 2,500 euros and will be awarded at the Perspektiven in May 2022.

What we are looking for

We are looking for outstanding projects that open up different perspectives through new narrative forms, actively involve the audience and bring stories to life. Projects that explore the possibilities of digital media and convey journalistic factual or documentary content beyond linear narrative.


Criteria for the submission

A project is eligible for selection for if the following requirements are met:

Submission by

  • Collective or individuals
  • Young talents with their first or second project


  • Within the German-speaking area (GER/AUT/ITA/SUI)
  • Production period from January 2021 to spring 2022

Content & formal approach

  • Relevant content with a documentary and/or journalistic approach
  • Digital format
  • Consistent linking of content and form
  • Potential for meaningful interaction with the audience

Further conditions

  • Possibility of presentation within the hybrid 2022
  • Willingness to actively contribute to the alumni network upon nomination


How to apply, submission documents and submission deadline

If you do not have an account yet, please register here. If you already have an account, you can log in at any time. To submit via the online form please log in, navigate to the New Media tab and select the button "Neues New Media Projekt" on the right.

Both completed and published projects can be submitted.
The following documents are required and can be submitted via the DOK.fest München homepage:

  • Contact details of the submitter(s)
  • Link to view the project
  • Exposé / Project description
  • Objective of the project
  • CV of the submitter(s) / profile of the production company
  • Catalogue of works

The prerequisite for registration is a meaningful application.
Submission is free of charge.

Award ceremony and presentation

The award ceremony will take place as part of the at the 37th DOK.fest München (4th to 15th May 2022). Preselected projects will be presented to the public in the presence of the jury.

Contact us

Sabine Kues



Award winners 2021: SAFESPACE by Whitney Bursch, Säli El Mohands, Rosa Fabry, Saphira Siegmund, Lea Wessels, Ariane Böhm, Elena Münker and Kim Neubauer

Jury statement

"A young editorial team creates content around the topics of mental and physical health and well-being for an even younger and hard-to-reach audience. The platform of choice is TikTok, where this audience is at home. The SAFESPACE team communicates authentically and at eye level, and the community's feedback is taken up directly and translated into new content. SAFESPACE indeed offers a protected space on a platform where very young users in particular feel at home and look for like-minded people. A platform that, like many other social media channels, is not always entirely innocent of problematic body images and insecurity due to the many perfectly staged images/videos and negative comments."

Jury 2021

Volker Bach (Head of MIZ Babelsberg and ALEX Berlin)
Prof. Dr. Lena Gieseke (Professor for Image-Oriented Media Technologies at the HFF Konrad Wolf)
Matthias Leitner (Freelance writer, digital storyteller and strategy designer)
Sabrina Scharpen (Lead Format Development HR New Media / ZDF)
Jutta Schirmacher (Media literacy and youth protection officer at BLM)