DOK.FEST @HOME SELECTION: SIRENS

Libanon, USA 2022 – Regie: Rita Baghdadi – Originalfassung: Arabisch, Englisch – Untertitel: Englisch, Ohne

Auf unserer Online-Plattform für den künstlerischen abendfüllenden Dokumentarfilm finden Sie jeden Monat einen neuen Film. Die weiteren Selection-Filme können Sie sich hier in der Übersicht ansehen. Seit dem 01. April steht Ihnen SIRENS für 5,00 Euro Gebühr zur Verfügung. 

 

Am Stadtrand von Beirut haben Lilas und ihre Thrash-Metal-Bandkolleginnen Shery, Maya, Alma und Tatyana (Slave to Sirens) große Träume, aber wenig Gelegenheit, aufzutreten. Als der Auftritt der Band bei einem britischen Festival nicht den erhofften Erfolg bringt, kehrt Lilas am Rande des Zusammenbruchs nach Hause in den Libanon zurück. Zur gleichen Zeit beginnt die komplizierte Freundschaft zwischen Lilas und der Gitarristin Shery zu zerbrechen. Lilas findet sich an einem Scheideweg wieder: Die Zukunft ihrer Band, ihres Landes und ihrer Träume steht für sie auf dem Spiel. Sie muss sich entscheiden, welche Art von Anführerin sie sein will – nicht nur für ihre Band, sondern auch als junge Frau, die in ihrem Heimatland Libanon um Selbstbestimmung kämpft, einer Region des Nahen Ostens, die so komplex ist wie jede der Sirens-Musikerinnen selbst. (Text: Production Company)

 

Kamera: Rita Baghdadi. Ton: Tatiana el Dahdah. Schnitt: Grace Zahrah. Musik: Para One. Produktion: Animal Pictures, Lady & Bird and Endless Eye, in association with XTR. Produzent*in: Camilla Hall, Rita Baghdadi. Länge: 78 min.

 

  • Der Film ist deutschlandweit verfügbar.
  • Ab dem ersten Starten des Films ist dieser für 48 Stunden verfügbar. Mit "dem ersten Starten" ist der erste Klick auf "PLAY" gemeint.
  • Bei Fragen zum Ticketkauf, unserem Helpdesk sowie zur technischen Umsetzung informieren Sie sich gerne in unseren FAQs.
  • Keine Jugendfreigabe

 

Rita Baghdadi

Die preisgekrönte marokkanisch-amerikanische Dokumentarfilmerin arbeitet als Regisseurin, Produzentin und Kamerafrau. Ihre Filme wurden auf zahlreichen Festivals und von verschiedenen Sendern gezeigt. Baghdadi ist Mitbegründerin von Lady & Bird Films und Mitglied der Brown Girls Doc Mafia. Sie arbeitet außerdem als Mentorin im Bereich Dokumentarfilmbildung für und mit Frauen und Mädchen of colour.

Filmografie

SERVED LIKE A GIRL
MY COUNTRY NO MORE
CITY RISING

Copyright Foto: Rita Baghdadi

DOK.FEST @HOME SELECTION: SIRENS

Lebanon, United States 2022 – Director: Rita Baghdadi – Original language: Arabic, English – Subtitles: English, None

On our online platform for the artistic feature-length documentary film you will find a new film released every month. You can view the other selections here in the overview. Since 1 April, SIRENS is available to you for a fee of 5.00 euros.

 

On the outskirts of Beirut, Lilas and her thrash metal bandmates, Shery, Maya, Alma and Tatyana (Slave to Sirens), have big dreams but few opportunities. When the band’s appearance at a UK music festival isn’t the life-changer they had hoped for, Lilas comes home to Lebanon on the brink of collapse. At the same time, the complicated friendship between Lilas and her fellow guitarist Shery starts to fracture. The future of her band, her country and her dreams now all at stake, Lilas faces a crossroad. She must decide what kind of leader she will be, not only for her band, but also as a young woman struggling to define herself in Lebanon, a region of the Middle East as complex as each of the Sirens themselves. (Synopsis: Production Company)

 

 

  • The film is available throughout Germany.
  • From the first start of the film, it is available for 48 hours. The "first start" means the first click on "PLAY".
  • If you have any questions about purchasing tickets, our helpdesk or technical implementation, please consult our FAQs.
  • No youth rating

 

Rita Baghdadi

The award-winning Moroccan-American documentary filmmaker works as a director, producer and cinematographer. Her films have been screened at numerous festivals and by various broadcasters. Baghdadi is the co-founder of Lady & Bird Films and a member of Brown Girls Doc Mafia. She is an active mentor dedicated to empowering women and girls of colour through documentary film training.

Filmography

SERVED LIKE A GIRL
MY COUNTRY NO MORE
CITY RISING

Copyright Foto: Rita Baghdadi

 

Camera: Rita Baghdadi. Sound: Tatiana el Dahdah. Editing: Grace Zahrah. Music: Para One. Production: Animal Pictures, Lady & Bird and Endless Eye, in association with XTR. Producer: Camilla Hall, Rita Baghdadi. Length: 78 min.