Preambel of the Documentary Film School

"Documentary film is the creative treatment of actuality."

(John Grierson, pioneer of the documentary film)

DOK.education sees itself as a "school of seeing" that combines cultural education and media competence. The main focus is always on artistic documentary films. We have committed ourselves to the following tasks:

 

 

  1. 1. Cultural Participation

The school programme brings together children and young people from all types of schools in small groups to interactively complete tasks for an artistic documentary film that they have previously seen together. The participants get to know the documentary film (in contrast to the documentary or the fictional film) as an artistically designed and at the same time entertaining film narrative and meet the artist, i.e. the filmmaker.

 

  1. 2. Cultural Education

The documentary film appeals to all the senses and thus forms a media total artwork in which the filmmaker deals with reality in a creative way in order to tell a story. The possibilities of film language result in an infinite variety of narrational and aesthetical forms. With the help of these, what has been found can be brought to an artistic expression. The participants of the Documentary Film School learn not only to recognise and name artistic directorial decisions in documentary films but also to ask about the underlying intention. Why are events told in historical form? How are images and sounds designed to give us an understanding of a certain atmosphere? And why are there artistic moments in documentary films at all?

 

  1. 3. Media Competence

How creative stylistic devices work in the language of film and thereby evoke emotions in the audience is elucidated in the subject of "truth and reality in documentary films". Does the cinematic adaptation of real-life events really show the truth – or is it rather only one of many possible perspectives on reality? How is reality cinematically being edited in order to be touching? What role do dramaturgy, sound, music and the power of images play?

 

  1. 4. Intercultural Education

The themes of the films curated by DOK.education tell us stories from all over the world and thereby they also convey cultural, political and social backgrounds. They offer the viewer an insight into foreign realities of life, perspectives and cultures, take us to other continents or simply into the garden of our neighbour. Like no other genre the documentary film offers children and young people the opportunity to immerse themselves in the worlds of other people, to experience the unusual and unheard and to take in other perspectives. Complex and often distant worlds can be understood and felt in this way.

 

  1. 5. Social Skills

By participating in the workshops children and young people are encouraged to actively face challenges and solve tasks independently. Our concept aims at not giving up on the participants in case of incomprehension or frustration. We encourage children to try out new things and not to be afraid of the unknown or of possibly "wrong" questions, observations and interpretations  for any subjective impression is allowed in the reception of art. Learning how to present results, which have been worked out in small groups, infront of the large plenum is also included in the process of the Documentary Film School.

 

All information on the continuously updated DOK.education programme can be found here.

Contact and newsletter registration: reichert@dokfest-muenchen.de.

 

***

Back to the DOK.education homepage

Präambel zur Dokumentarfilmschule

„Dokumentarfilm ist die kreative Behandlung der Wirklichkeit.“
(John Grierson, Dokumentarfilm-Pionier)

DOK.education versteht sich als "Schule des Sehens", die kulturelle Bildung und Medienkompetenz vereint. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei immer der künstlerische Dokumentarfilm. Den folgenden Aufgaben haben wir uns dabei verschrieben:

 

1. Kulturelle Teilhabe

Das Schulprogramm bringt schulartübergreifend Kinder und Jugendliche in Kleingruppen zusammen, um interaktiv Aufgaben zu einem zuvor gemeinsam gesehenen künstlerischen Dokumentarfilm zu erledigen. Die TeilnehmerInnen lernen den Dokumentarfilm (in Abgrenzung zur Dokumentation oder zum Spielfilm) als kunstvoll gestaltete und zugleich unterhaltsame Filmerzählung kennen und begegnen dem bzw. der KünstlerIn, sprich FilmemacherIn.

 

2. Kulturelle Bildung

Der Dokumentarfilm spricht alle Sinne an und bildet somit ein mediales Gesamtkunstwerk, in dem der/die FilmemacherIn kreativ mit der Wirklichkeit arbeitet, um eine Geschichte zu erzählen. Aus den Möglichkeiten der Filmsprache ergibt sich eine unendliche Vielfalt an Erzähl- und Gestaltungsformen, mithilfe derer das Vorgefundene zu einem künstlerischen Ausdruck gebracht werden kann. Die TeilnehmerInnen der Dokumentarfilmschule lernen, künstlerische Regie-Entscheidungen in Dokumentarfilmen nicht nur zu erkennen und zu benennen, sondern auch nach der dahinterliegenden Absicht zu fragen. Warum werden Ereignisse in Geschichtsformerzählt? Wie sind Bilder und Töne gestaltet, um uns eine bestimmte Atmosphäre näherzubringen? Und warum wird im Dokumentarfilm überhaupt gestaltet?

 

3. Medienkompetenz

Das Thema „Wahrheit und Wirklichkeit im Dokumentarfilm“ klärt auf, wie gestaltende Stilmittel in der Filmsprache wirken und dabei Emotionen der ZuschauerInnen hervorrufen. Zeigt die filmische Adaption von Ereignissen aus dem echten Leben tatsächlich die Wahrheit – oder ist sie vielmehr nur eine von vielen möglichen Perspektiven auf die Wirklichkeit? Wie wird die Realität filmisch bearbeitet, um zu berühren? Welche Rolle spielen Dramaturgie, Ton, Musik und die Kraft der Bilder?

 

4. Interkulturelle Bildung

Die Themen der von DOK.education kuratierten Filme erzählen uns Geschichten aus aller Welt und vermitteln dabei auch kulturelle, politische und gesellschaftliche Hintergründe. Sie bieten den ZuschauerInnen Einblick in fremde Lebensrealitäten, Sichtweisen und Kulturen, führen uns auf andere Kontinente oder auch einfach in den Garten des Nachbarn. Wie kein anderes Genre bietet der Dokumentarfilm die Möglichkeit, Kinder und Jugendliche in die Welten von anderen Menschen eintauchen zu lassen, Ungewohntes und Ungehörtes zu erleben und andere Perspektiven einzunehmen. Komplexe und uns oft ferne Lebenswelten können so verstanden und nachgefühlt werden.

  1. 5. Soziale Kompetenzen

  2. Durch die Teilnahme an den Workshops werden Kinder und Jugendliche darin gefüördert, sich Herausforderungen aktiv zu stellen und Aufgaben selbstständig zu lösen. Unser Konzept zielt darauf ab die Teilnehmer, im Falle von Unverständnis oder Frust nicht gleich aufzugeben. Wir ermutigen Kinder, Neues auszuprobieren und dabei keine Angst vor dem Fremden zu haben. Inkuliert im Ablauf ist auch das Erlernen des Auftretens und Präsentieren von erarbeiteten Aufgaben aus der Kleingruppe für die Großgruppe.

 

Alle Informationen zum laufend aktualisierten Programm von DOK.education finden Sie hier.
Kontakt und Newsletter-Anmeldung erfolgt über reichert@dokfest-muenchen.de.