Afrikatag 2019

East Africa – A Region in Transition? 12. Mai 2019, 14:00 - 21:30 , HFF Kino 1

Was guckst du? – Das Kino in TALKING ABOUT TREES von Suhaib Gusmelbari wartet auf Besucher.innen.

Ostafrika – Sehnsuchtsort für Fernreisende: Tausendundeine Nacht auf Sansibar und Safari auf den Spuren von Bernhard Grzimek in der Serengeti. Doch was macht das moderne Ostafrika jenseits von exotischer Kolonial-Romantik aus?

Der ostafrikanische Kulturraum ist sowohl von arabischen Einflüssen als auch von der europäischen Kolonialgeschichte geprägt. Im Spannungsfeld zwischen Islam und Christentum gewinnt die Religionszugehörigkeit an Bedeutung. Sicherheitspolitisch kommt den Ländern am Indischen Ozean eine stabilisierende Rolle für die gesamte Region zu. Gleichzeitig bilden sie eine wichtige panafrikanische Verbindung zwischen Subsahara- und Nord-Afrika.

Drei Filme aus und über den Osten Afrikas nehmen uns mit auf eine Entdeckungsreise: Mit dem Zug fahren wir in TANZANIA TRANSIT durch die Weite Tansanias. Unterwegs verhandelt Jeroen Van Velzen die Rolle der Frau, der Religion und der ethnischen Zugehörigkeit. In NEW MOON begleiten wir die kenianische Filmemacherin Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann auf ihrer Reise zu sich selbst: zu spiritueller Identität zwischenm moderner Lebensart und muslimischem Glauben. Und mit TALKING ABOUT TREES von Suhaib Gasmelbari machen wir uns auf den Weg in das nordöstliche Afrika. Wir tauchen in die sudanesische Filmgeschichte ein und erleben, wie Politik und Religion die Film- und Lebenskultur beeinflussen.

Im Anschluss an die Filme werden wir mit den Filmemacher.innen und Expert.innen diskutieren: Was verbindet die Länder des östlichen Afrika – Tansania, Kenia und Sudan? Welche Rolle spielt die Religion? Entsteht in Nairobi mit der aufstrebenden Filmszene gerade eine neue wirtschaftliche Kraft im Zentrum Ostafrikas? Welcher Stellenwert kommt dabei dem Dokumentarfilm zu?

Die Veranstaltung findet auf Englisch statt.

12. May 2019, 14.00 bis 21.30 Uhr
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film, Kino 1

 

Filmprogramm

14.00 - 15.30 Uhr
Film: TANZANIA TRANSIT (NL 2018, Jeroen van Velzen, 75 min.) in Anwesenheit von Regisseur Jeroen van Velzen

16.00 - 17.30 Uhr
Film: NEW MOON (KE 2018, Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann, 71 min.) in Anwesenheit von Regisseurin Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann und programme director Peter Mudamba East African Documentary Film Fund DOCUBOX

18.00 - 19.00 Uhr
Empfang in der Festivallounge

19.00 - 20.30 Uhr
Film: TALKING ABOUT TREES (SD 2019, Suhaib Gusmelbari, 93 min.)

20.30 - 21.30 Uhr
Diskussion: EAST AFRICA – a region in transition: where does the journey lead?

Diskussionsteilnehmer:


Jeroen Van Velzen

Regisseur von TANZANIA TRANSIT, Niederlande

Geboren 1979 in den Niederlanden, wuchs van Velzen in Kenia, Indien und Südafrika auf. Er studierte Film an der Netherlands Film and Television Academy. Mit seinem ersten langen Dokumentarfilm WAVUMBA, der 2013 auf dem DOK.fest lief, gewann er 2012 beim Tribeca Film Festival den Preis für Beste Nachwuchsregie.

 

Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann

Regisseurin von NEW MOON, Kenia

Ndisi-Herrmann wurde 1985 in Deutschland geboren und lebt heute in Nairobi, Kenia. Sie arbeitet als Filmemacherin, Autorin und Fotografin. Unterstützt von dem ersten ostafrikanischen Filmförderfond DOCUBOX konnte sie 2018 ihren ersten langen Dokumentarfilm NEW MOON fertigstellen, der bereits mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet wurde: beim Zanzibar International Filmfestival als beste Arbeit einer afrikanischen Filmemacherin, beim Durban International Film Festival als Bester Dokumentarfilm sowie beim Luxor International Film Festival mit dem Artistic Achievement Award.

 


Peter Mudamba

programme director, East African Documentary Film Fund DOCUBOX, Kenia

Zusammen mit der kenianischen Filmemacherin Judy Kibinge gründete Peter Mudamba den ersten ostafrikanischen Filmförderfond DOCUBOX. Als Programm-Direktor umfasst sein Aufgabengebiet die Projektauswahl, Programmierung und Berichtserstellung. Unterstützung der Content-Produktion durch Zuschüsse für die Entwicklung, Produktion und Betreuung unabhängiger Dokumentarfilme und Kurzspielfilme stehen im Vordergrund. Dazu gehören auch Trainings von Filmemacher.innen und die Organisation von Impact-Filmscreenings. Mudamba ist aktives Mitglied der Creative Economy Working Group (CEWG), einer führenden Interessenvertretung des Kreativsektors zur Verankerung besserer Gesetze für den Kreativsektor in Kenia. Kreativität zu fördern und den sozialen Wandel in Kenia durch unabhängige Filmproduktion und -vorführung voranzutreiben ist sein Anliegen.

 


Murad Abu-Eisheh

coordinator Pan-African Film Projects Robert Bosch Foundation, Deutschland

Geboren am 11. März 1992 in Amman, Jordanien. Im Jahr 2015 schloss er seinen Bachelor-Abschluss in Kommunikationsdesign mit dem Schwerpunkt Filmemacher an der Deutsche Jordanische Universitate - Amman ab. Von 2015 - 2017 arbeitete er als Filmregisseur am Royal Hashemite Court - Jordanien. Im Jahr 2017 begann er sein Studium der szenisch Filmregie an der Filmakademie Baden - Württemberg. Seit 2018 ist er als Koordinator für pan-afrikanischer Filmprojekte für die Robert Bosch Stiftung tätig.


Moderation: Barbara Off (Head of DOK.network Africa)

Africa Day 2019

East Africa – A Region in Transition? 12th May 2019, 2:00 - 09:30 pm, HFF Kino 1

What's up? – The Cinema in Suhaib Gusmelbari`s TALKING ABOUT TREES is waiting for its visitors.

East Africa – a place where many long to travel: Thousand and one nights in Zanzibar and safari in the footsteps of Bernhard
Grzimek in the Serengeti. But what characterizes the modern East Africa beyond exotic colonial romanticism?

The cultural region of East Africa has been lastingly influenced by the Arab as well as by European colonial history. In the interplay of Islam and Christianity, religious orientation is gaining in importance. In terms of security policy, the countries on the Indian Ocean play a crucial role for the stability for the entire region. At the same time, they form an important pan-African link between Sub-Saharan Africa and North Africa.

Three films from and about East Africa take us on a voyage of discovery: In TANZANIA TRANSIT we take the train through the wide landscape of Tanzania. On the way Jeroen Van Velzen discusses the role of women, religion and ethnicity. In NEW MOON we accompany the Kenyan filmmaker Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann on her quest for spiritual identity between modern lifestyle and Muslim faith. And with TALKING ABOUT TREES by Suhaib Gasmelbari we set off for northeastern Africa. We dive into Sudanese film history and experience how politics and religion influence film and life culture.

Following the films, we will discuss with the filmmakers and experts: What connects the countries of Eastern Africa - Tanzania, Kenya and Sudan? What role does religion play? Is the emerging film scene in Nairobi just becoming a new economic force in the centre of East Africa? How important is documentary film in this context?

The event will be held in English.

12th May 2019, 2:00 - 09:30 pm
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film, Kino 1


2:00 - 3:30 pm
Film: TANZANIA TRANSIT (NL 2018, Jeroen van Velzen, 75 min.) in the presence of director Jeroen van Velzen

4:00 - 5:30 pm
Film: NEW MOON (KE 2018, Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann 71 min.) in the presence of director Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann and
programme director Peter Mudamba East African Documentary Film Fund DOCUBOX

6:00 - 7:00 pm
Reception in the Festivallounge

7:00 - 8:30 pm
Film: TALKING ABOUT TREES (SD 2019, Suhaib Gusmelbari, 93 min.)

8:30 - 9:30 pm
Discussion: EAST AFRICA – a region in transition: where does the journey lead?

 

Panel discussion participants:



Jeroen Van Velzen

director of TANZANIA TRANSIT, Netherlands

Born 1979 in the Netherlands, van Velzen grew up in Kenya, India and South Africa. He studied film at the Netherlands Film and Television Academy. With his first long documentary WAVUMBA, which was screened at the DOK.fest in 2013, he won the prize for Best Young Director at the Tribeca Film Festival in 2012.

 


Philippa Ndisi-Herrmann

director of NEW MOON, Kenya

Ndisi-Herrmann was born in Germany in 1985 and now lives in Nairobi, Kenya. She works as a filmmaker, author and photographer. Supported by the East African film fund DOCUBOX, she completed her first long documentary film NEW MOON in 2018, which has already won several awards: at the Zanzibar International Film Festival as the best work by an African filmmaker, at the Durban International Film Festival as Best Documentary and at the Luxor International Film Festival with the Artistic Achievement Award.

 


Peter Mudamba

programme director, East African Documentary Film Fund DOCUBOX, Kenya

Together with the Kenyan filmmaker Judy Kibinge Peter Mudamba founded the first East African film fund DOCUBOX. As programme director he is responsible for project selection, programming and reporting. Support for content production through grants for the development, production and support of independent documentaries and short feature films are in the foreground. This also includes training courses for filmmakers and the organisation of impact film screenings. Mudamba is an active member of the Creative Economy Working Group (CEWG), a leading interest group of the creative sector to anchor better laws for the creative sector in Kenya. His mission is to promote creativity and social change in Kenya through independent film production and screening.

 


Murad Abu-Eisheh

coordinator Pan-African Film Projects Robert Bosch Foundation, Germany

Born on 11th march 1992 in Amman, Jordan. Finished his bachelor degree in communication design focused on film making from the German Jordanian University - Amman in 2015. From 2015 - 2017 he worked as a film director at The Royal Hashemite Court - Jordan. In 2017  he started his studies in fiction film directing at the Filmakademie Baden - Württemberg. And in 2018 he started working as the coordinator of pan-african film project for the Robert Bosch Stiftung in Stuttgart.


Moderation: Barbara Off (Head of DOK.network Africa)