Submission DOK.forum Marketplace (until 3rd February, 2020)

Format overview

 

Who can apply?

All experienced and aspiring (documentary) filmmakers, authors, directors, producers and film composers are cordially invited to apply free of charge for the DOK.forum Marketplace (7th to 10th May 2020). Submitting filmmakers should be able to prove that they have realised at least one cinema or TV documentary film.

Students from our partner universities can apply for the Pitch Award of the Haus des Dokumentarfilms until 1st March 2020. Here you will also find the submission regulations for this award for young filmmakers.

 

What we are looking for

The DOK.forum Marketplace is looking for outstanding documentary film projects in various stages of development (project idea / early production stage / rough cut).

Our focus is on creative long documentary films, but we are also looking for TV formats, serial, web-based or VR projects. The thematic orientation is open. What is important is the relevance of the story - both for possible co-productions within the German-speaking as well as within the international area - as well as the originality of the theme and the cinematic preparation.

For the German Composition Funding Award within the Marktplatze, film composition concepts are particularly sought, for the British Pathé Archive Award projects with a relevant share of archive material. We also welcome international documentary film projects for the Master's Pitch.


How to apply?

If you do not have an account yet, please register here. If you already have an account, you can log in at any time. To submit via the online form please log in and select the button "new project" in the projects tab.

Please have the following information ready for submission:

  • Short synopsis (50 to 400 characters)
  • Synopsis (50 to 1,500 characters)
  • Visual concept (50 to 1,000 characters)
  • Statement by.the.filmmaker.in (50 to 400 characters)
  • Goal or mission at the DOK.forum marketplace (50 to 300 characters)
  • Link to the trailer
  • Link to three film stills
  • Link to the video self-portrait
  • Biographies direction and production (50 to 400 characters each)
  • Link to work samples

The prerequisite for marketplace registration is a meaningful application. Applications can be submitted in German and English. German projects that have been successfully accepted by the DOK.forum marketplace must submit a project description in English for the international catalogue by the end of March.

The deadline for submission is 3rd February 2020. Submission is free of charge.

 

Selection of film projects

A commission consisting of Industry Expert.innen and the DOK.forum team selects the up to 30 best and for the DOK.forum Marketplace most promising projects from all submissions. Admitted applicants will receive feedback on their submission by the end of March 2020. The aim of the selection is to ensure the best possible matchmaking both for the marketplace participants and for the Marketplace experts. The DOK.forum selection team curates the individual projects and assigns them to the individual formats of DOK.forum Marketplace.

 

Participation fees

Fees are only charged for successful submissions. If your project is selected for this year's DOK.forum Marketplace (7th to 10th May 2020), you will pay a participation fee of 200 Euro per project. Participants who do not pay their accreditation fee cannot be considered. Each project can be represented by a maximum of two team members at the DOK.forum Marketplace.

The new accreditation package for the DOK.forum Marketplace includes:

  • Individual Matchmaking
  • Participation in the Roundtable Sessions and/or Extended One-to-One Meetings and/or nomination for the competitions
  • Master's Pitch, German Composition Funding Award, British Pathé Archive Award
  • Participation in or access to marketplace screenings
  • Pitch preparation for the Master's Pitch and Pitch Award
  • Catering during the events of the DOK.forum Marketplace
  • Technical support on site
  • Networking with the most important decision-makers.within the market
  • Free access to all DOK.forum events 2020
  • Festival accreditation including access to all events and receptions of the DOK.fest München 2020 (including opening event in the Dt. Theater)
  • Participants from abroad can also apply for a maximum of two free nights per project in our festival hotel.

We are looking forward to your submissions!

Your Marketplace Team

 

Contact

DOK.forum Marktplatz
Sina Weber
marktplatz@dokfest-muenchen.de

Einreichung DOK.forum Marktplatz (bis zum 3. Februar 2020)

Formatübersicht

 

  1. Wer kann sich bewerben?

Alle erfahrenen und aufstrebenden (Dokumentar-)Filmemacher.innen, Autor.innen, Regisseur.innen, Produzent.innen und Filmkomponist.innen aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum sind herzlich eingeladen, sich für den DOK.forum Marktplatz (7.–10. Mai 2020) kostenfrei zu bewerben. Einreichende Filmschaffende sollten nachweislich mindestens einen Kino- oder TV-Dokumentarfilm realisiert haben.

Studierenden unserer Partnerhochschulen können sich bis 1. März 2020 für den Pitch Award des Hauses des Dokumentarfilms bewerben. Hier finden sich auch die Einreichregularien für diesen Nachwuchspreis.

 

  1. Welche Projekte können eingereicht werden?

Der DOK.forum Marktplatz sucht nach herausragenden dokumentarischen Filmprojekten in verschiedenen Entwicklungsstadien (Projektidee / frühes Produktionsstadium / Rough Cut).

Unser Schwerpunkt liegt auf dem kreativen langen Dokumentarfilm, wir suchen aber auch nach TV-Formaten, seriellen, webbasierten oder VR Projekten. Die thematische Ausrichtung ist offen. Wichtig ist die Relevanz der Geschichte – sowohl für mögliche Koproduktionen innerhalb des deutschsprachigen, als auch innerhalb des internationalen Raums – sowie die Originalität des Themas und die filmische Aufbereitung.

Für den Deutschen Kompositions-Förderpreis innerhalb des Marktplatze werden insbesondere auch Filmkompositionskonzepte gesucht, für den British Pathé Archive Award Projekte mit einem relevanten Anteil an Archivmaterial. Für den Master's Pitch begrüßen wir außerdem internationale Dokumentarfilmprojekte.

 

  1. Schritte zur Projekteinreichung

Wenn Sie noch kein User-Konto bei uns besitzen, registrieren Sie sich bitte hier. Verfügen Sie bereits über ein Konto, können Sie sich dort jederzeit einloggen.

Um über das Online-Formular einzureichen, melden Sie sich bitte an und wählen im Reiter Projekte den Button "Neues Projekt" aus.

Bitte halten Sie folgende Informationen für die Einreichung bereit:

  • Kurze Synopsis (50 bis 400 Zeichen)
  • Synopsis (50 bis 1.500 Zeichen)
  • Visuelles Konzept (50 bis 1.000 Zeichen)
  • Statement des.der Filmemacher.in (50 bis 400 Zeichen)
  • Ziel oder Mission beim DOK.forum Marktplatz (50 bis 300 Zeichen)
  • Link zum Trailer
  • Link zu drei Filmstills
  • Link zum Video-Selbstporträt
  • Biografien Regie und Produktion (je 50 bis 400 Zeichen)
  • Link zu Arbeitsproben

Voraussetzung für die Marktplatz-Anmeldung ist eine aussagekräftige Bewerbung. Die Einreichung ist in deutscher und englischer Sprache möglich. Deutsche Projekte, die erfolgreich beim DOK.forum Marktplatz angenommen sind, müssen für den internationalen Katalog bis Ende März eine Projektbeschreibung auf Englisch nachreichen.

Einreichschluss ist der 3. Februar 2020. Die Einreichung ist kostenfrei.

 

  1. Auswahl der Filmprojekte

Ein Komission aus Industry Expert.innen und dem DOK.forum Team wählt aus allen Einreichungen die bis zu 30 besten und für den DOK.forum Marktplatz vielversprechendsten Projekte aus. Zugelassene Bewerber.innen erhalten bis voraussichtlich Ende März 2020 Rückmeldung zu ihrer Einreichung. Ziel der Auswahl ist es, ein möglichst optimales Matchmaking sowohl für die Marktplatz-Teilnehmer.innen, als auch für die Marktplatz-Expert.innen zu gewährleisten. Das DOK.forum Auswahlteam kuratiert die einzelnen Projekte und ordnet sie den einzelnen Formaten des DOK.forum Marktplatz zu.

 

  1. Teilnahmegebühren

  2.  
  3. Gebühren fallen nur für erfolgreiche Einreichungen an. Sollte Ihr Projekt für den diesjährigen DOK.forum Marktplatz (7.–10. Mai 2020) ausgewählt werden, zahlen Sie pro Projekt eine Teilnahmegebühr von insgesamt 200 Euro. Teilnehmer.innen, die ihre Akkreditierungsgebühr nicht zahlen, können nicht berücksichtigt werden. Jedes Projekt kann von maximal zwei Teammitgliedern beim DOK.forum Marktplatz vertreten werden.

Das neue Akkreditierungspaket für den DOK.forum Marktplatz umfasst:

  • Individuelles Matchmaking
  • Teilnahme an den Roundtable Sessions und/oder Extended One-to-One Meetings und/oder Nominierung für die Wettbewerbe Master's Pitch, Deutscher Kompositions-Förderpreis, British Pathé Archive Award
  • Teilnahme oder Zugang an/zu den Marktplatz Screenings
  • Pitch Vorbereitung für den Master's Pitch und Pitch Award
  • Catering während der Veranstaltungen des DOK.forum Marktplatz
  • Technische Betreuung vor Ort
  • Networking mit den wichtigsten Entscheidungsträger.innen des Marktes
  • Freier Zugang zu allen DOK.forum Veranstaltungen 2020
  • Festivalkkreditierung inklusive Zugang zu allen Events und Empfängen des DOK.fest 2020 (inklusive Eröffnungsveranstaltung im Dt. Theater)
  • Auswärtige Teilnehmer.innen können sich zudem für max. zwei kostenlose Übernachtungen pro Projekt in unseren Festivalhotel bewerben.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Einreichungen!

Ihr Marktplatz Team.

 

Kontakt

DOK.forum Marktplatz
Sina Weber
marktplatz@dokfest-muenchen.de

Tel.: +49 (0)89 – 51 51 97 86