Regulations

  1. Submissions for DOK.education – please refer to 9 >>

  2. 1. General entry conditions

Every documentary film submitted for DOK.fest München must fulfill the following requirements:

  • Your film must have been completed after January 1st, 2017.
  • We accept films with a duration of at least 52 minutes.
  • Submitted films must not have been shown on German public television before the festival. Furthermore, films that are publicly available on Internet platforms are automatically excluded from the selection process.
  • The film must be submitted by December 15th, 2017 through the online platform and with an email including the payment confirmation of the submission fee.

  1. 2. Language version

For foreign films, English or German subtitles are mandatory. For the screening process, they are not obligatory for films in English, French, Spanish or Czech. All films selected for the festival must have English or German subtitles.

  1. 3. Programming / selection

We do not accept submissions for specific sections. All programme decisions are made by a selection committee. The festival director takes ultimate responsibility for the films’ selection and the allocation of the different sections. For competitive sections, the premiere status is mandatory. Premieres will generally be favored in the submission and selection process.

  1. 4. The granting of rights, legal guarantees and exemptions

By submitting your film you guarantee that you are the sole owner of all rights (the exhibition rights for the film and the trailer, the rights for making public, duplicating and distributing the press material, the rights for making public the trailer) and, in case your film is selected, that you are able to grant these rights to DOK.fest. You also guarantee that the film you have submitted does not infringe the personal or other rights of third parties.

With the notification of the film selection, these rights are granted to DOK.fest without the requirement of any further declaration. You then indemnify DOK.fest from any claims by third parties in connection with the rights mentioned in section 4, paragraph 1.

  1. 5. Promotion

If your film is selected we require press and photo material to be provided promptly. By accepting our regulations you commit to making material (photos, text, trailer) available to the festival for the purposes of PR and advertising in the catalogue, programme flyer and on the website during DOK.fest. After the festival, all material will remain in our non-public archive. Likewise, you agree that DOK.fest can use film extracts of up to three minutes in length within the coverage of the festival, on the website and on the DOK.fest blog. DOK.fest reserves the right to pass on photos and trailers to selected partners for promotion purposes.

6. Exhibition formats

The following exhibition formats are permitted:

  • DCP
  • ProRes File 4.2.2 HQ (Sound format 5.1.) (Only for our special venues)

  1. 7. Submission fee

Due to the large number of applications we receive, we feel impelled to charge an administration fee. The fee amounts to 35 Euros (45 US Dollars) per application, with exception of submissions from emerging countries (production country and not film location). You will find detailed information on this in the online form. Submissions for DOK.education are exempt from the fee.

  1. 8. Submission steps

If you would like to register a film with us for the very first time, please set up an account. If you already have an account, you can log in at any time and register a new film. If you have forgotten your password, you can request a new one through our system.

Registration: Please complete the online form. If you are applying for DOK.education, please select the corresponding section under “Registration for”.

Additionally, please send us a confirmation of the payment of the submission fee to: info@dokfest-muenchen.de with the following subject: payment confirmation + FILM TITLE. Your submission will only be accepted for the screening process if we receive this confirmation (in case your film is not exempt from the fee – see 7).

If you can’t provide an online link to your submitted film, you can also send us two technically flawless and clearly labelled DVDs (please do not affix paper labels but print directly onto the DVDs or label them by hand).

For the time being, please do not send any digital photos, trailers or dialogue lists. If your film were selected, we will request this material from you. We ask for your understanding that the DVDs and printed materials cannot be returned.

Postal address:

DOK.fest München
Film administration
Dachauer Str. 114
80636 München

Applications that are incomplete or do not comply with the stated criteria will be rejected and will not be screened. Upon receipt of your online registration/DVD, the submission fee and its confirmation via email (if not exempt), you will receive a confirmation message to the email address registered in the online application form.


9. DOK.education

For our section DOK.education we accept submissions for the Documentary Film School. They should fulfill the following requirements:

  • We are looking for professional narrative or experimental documentary short films of up to 30 minutes in length.
  • The content must focus on the lives and perspectives of children or young adults.
  • Ideally the original language will be German – exceptions can be made if German subtitles are provided.

If you would like to register a film with us for the very first time, please set up an account. If you already have an account, you can log in at any time and register a new film. If you have forgotten your password, you can request a new one through our system.

Registration: Please complete the online form. If you are applying for DOK.education, please select the corresponding section under “Registration for”.

The submission for DOK.education is free of charge. The deadline is December 8th, 2017.

  1. 10. Payment

DOK.fest is in general not able to pay any screening fees. Nevertheless, we strive to invite directors of festival films to screenings in Munich and to (partially) reimburse travel and hotel costs. Besides, films in our competitive sections and, moreover, all festival films have the chance of winning a prize in various cross-sectional competitions (SOS Kinderdörfer weltweit, Documentary Music Award, ARRI AMIRA Award and FFF Documentary Talent Award). Further claims regarding taking over expenses or other form of payment or compensation are excluded.

  1. 11. Streaming offer for DOK.fest accredited visitors

For the current festival edition, DOK.fest will develop an online screening room that will be available to press representatives and special accredited visitors in the run-up to and during the festival.

We act on the assumption that you agree with this form of promotion. If you have any objections to this, please do let us know per e-mail shortly after the confirmation for the programme.

12. Validity of the entry conditions

By completing registration using the online form you accept the validity of the entry conditions. These entry conditions apply to all current film submissions, even when they are not explicitly stipulated once again. DOK.fest does not accept any differing conditions, despite any knowledge of them, unless DOK.fest has explicitly accepted their validity in writing.

13. Place of jurisdiction and the application of German Law

Munich is understood as the place of jurisdiction as far as it is permissible. The law of the Federal Republic of Germany applies to the exclusion of conflicting laws.

 

Please find here the PDF version.

Reglement

  1. EinreicherInnen für DOK.education springen bitte zu Punkt 9. >>

  2. 1. Allgemeine Teilnahmebedingungen

Jeder Dokumentarfilm, der für das 33. DOK.fest München 2018 eingereicht wird, muss folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Das Datum der Fertigstellung liegt nach dem 1. Januar 2017.
  • Die Laufzeit des Filmes beträgt mindestens 52 Minuten.
  • Bis zur Aufführung beim Festival darf der eingereichte Film weder von ARD (inkl. dritte Sender), arte, 3sat und ZDF ausgestrahlt, noch in München und Umgebung öffentlich gezeigt worden sein. Des Weiteren sind Filme, die nicht passwortgeschützt auf Internetplattformen verfügbar sind, vom Festival ausgeschlossen. Im Einzelfall obliegt die Entscheidung über die Zulassung der Festivalleitung.
  • Der Film muss bis zum 15. Dezember 2017 über das Onlineformular zuzüglich einer Mail mit der Zahlungsbestätigung eingereicht werden.

  1. 2. Sprachfassungen

Für den Sichtungsprozess sind englische oder deutsche Untertitel erwünscht. Für Filme mit Originalsprache Englisch, Französisch, Spanisch und Tschechisch können die Untertitel aber auch erst im Falle einer Zusage erstellt werden. Im Falle der Einladung des Filmes zum Festival sind deutsche oder englische Untertitel obligatorisch.

  1. 3. Programmierung / Auswahl

Einreichungen für spezielle Reihen sind nicht möglich. Alle Programmentscheidungen werden von einem Auswahlgremium getroffen. In letzter Instanz nimmt die Festivalleitung die Filmauswahl und die Reihenzuweisung vor. Für die Wettbewerbsreihen ist der Premierenstatus obligatorisch. Premieren werden bei der Einreichung generell bevorzugt.

  1. 4. Rechtseinräumung, Rechtegarantie und Freistellung

Mit der Einreichung des Filmes garantieren Sie, der alleinige Inhaber sämtlicher Rechte (Vorführrechte des Filmes und des Trailers, Vervielfältigungsrecht und Recht zur Verbreitung des Pressematerials) zu sein und diese Rechte dem DOK.fest München im Falle der Auswahl Ihres Filmes auch einräumen zu dürfen. Sie garantieren weiter, dass der von Ihnen eingereichte Film nicht die Persönlichkeits- oder sonstigen Rechte Dritter verletzt.

Mit der Mitteilung über die Auswahl des Filmes werden diese Rechte dem DOK.fest eingeräumt, ohne dass es einer weiteren Erklärung bedarf. Sie stellen das DOK.fest dann von jedweden Ansprüchen Dritter in Zusammenhang mit den in Ziffer 4 Abs.1 benannten Rechten frei.

  1. 5. Werbung / Promotion

  2. Sollte Ihr Film ausgewählt werden, benötigen wir zeitnah Presse- und Fotomaterial. Mit der Anerkennung des Reglements versichern Sie, dass Sie das Material (Online Download Link, DVD, Fotos, Texte, Trailer) dem Festival für die Pressearbeit und zu Werbezwecken im Katalog, Programmheft und auf der Website im Rahmen des DOK.fest zur Verfügung stellen. Nach Ablauf des Festivals verbleibt das Material in unserem nicht öffentlichen Archiv. Gleichermaßen stimmen Sie zu, dass das DOK.fest Filmausschnitte von bis zu 3 Minuten im Rahmen der Festivalberichterstattung auf der Website und im DOK.fest Blog verwenden darf. Das DOK.fest behält sich vor, Fotos sowie Trailer auch an ausgewählte Partner zu Promotionszwecken weiterzugeben.

6. Vorführformate

Folgende Vorführformate sind zugelassen:

  • DCP
  • ProRes File 4.2.2 HQ (Tonformat 5.1) (nur für unsere Sonderspielorte)

  1. 7. Gebühren

  2. Aufgrund der Vielzahl der eingereichten Projekte sehen wir uns veranlasst, eine Bearbeitungsgebühr in Höhe von EUR 35,00 (US-Dollar 45,00) pro Einreichung zu erheben. Ausnahmen bilden Filme aus Schwellenländern. Nähere Angaben hierzu finden Sie in unserem Onlineformular. Die Einreichgebühr bezieht sich auf das Produktionsland, nicht den Drehort! Einreichungen für DOK.education sind generell von der Zahlung der Einreichgebühr befreit.

8. Schritte zur Filmeinreichung

Wenn Sie erstmals einen Film bei uns anmelden, richten Sie bitte ein Konto ein. Verfügen Sie bereits über ein Konto, können Sie sich dort jederzeit einloggen und einen neuen Film anmelden. Für den Fall, dass Sie Ihr Passwort vergessen haben, können Sie ein neues über unser System anfordern.

Registrierung: Füllen Sie bitte das Onlineformular vollständig aus. Bei Einreichungen für DOK.education wählen Sie bitte unter „Anmeldung für“ die Sektion „DOK.education“ aus.

Schicken Sie bitte ggf. zusätzlich eine Zahlungsbestätigung für die Anmeldegebühr mit folgendem Betreff an info@dokfest-muenchen.de: Zahlungsbestätigung + FILMTITEL. Ihre Einreichung gilt erst dann als vollständig und wird in den Sichtungsprozess aufgenommen, wenn wir diese Zahlungsbestätigung per Mail erhalten haben (es sei denn, Sie sind von der Gebühr befreit, siehe Punkt 7).

Falls Sie keinen Online-Link Ihres Filmes einreichen können, schicken Sie uns bitte zwei technisch einwandfreie und lesbar beschriftete DVDs (ohne Papierlabels, direkt bedruckt oder handbeschriftet).

Senden Sie uns vorerst bitte noch keine digitalen Fotos, keine Trailer oder Dialoglisten zu. Wird Ihr Film ausgewählt, fordern wir dieses Material bei Ihnen an. Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis, dass die DVD und mögliches Printmaterial leider nicht zurückgesendet werden können.

Postadresse:

DOK.fest München
Filmadministration
Dachauer Str. 114
80636 München

Einreichungen, die unvollständig sind oder die genannten Kriterien nicht erfüllen, gelten als abgelehnt und werden nicht gesichtet. Nach dem Ein­gang Ihrer Registrierung / dem Erhalt Ihrer DVD, sowie ggf. der Einreich­gebühr und deren Bestätigung, erhalten Sie eine Bestätigungs­email an die von Ihnen bei der Online-Anmeldung angegebene E-Mail-Adresse.

  1. 9. Einreichung für DOK.education

Für die Sektion DOK.education akzeptieren wir Einreichungen für die Dokumentarfilmschule. Diese sollen folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Berücksichtigt werden professionelle narrative oder experimentelle Dokumentarfilme bis zu einer Länge von 30 Minuten.
  • Inhaltlich soll der Fokus auf Lebenswelten und Perspektiven von Kindern und Jugendlichen bzw. jungen Erwachsenen liegen.

Wenn Sie erstmals einen Film bei uns anmelden, richten Sie bitte ein Konto ein. Verfügen Sie bereits über ein Konto, können Sie sich dort jederzeit einloggen und einen neuen Film anmelden. Für den Fall, dass Sie Ihr Passwort vergessen haben, können Sie ein neues über unser System anfordern.

Registrierung: Füllen Sie bitte das Onlineformular vollständig aus. Bei Einreichungen für DOK.education wählen Sie bitte unter „Anmeldung für“ die Sektion „DOK.education“ aus.

Einreichungen für DOK.education sind kostenfrei. Deadline ist der 8. Dezember 2017.

10. Vergütung

Grundsätzlich zahlt das DOK.fest keine Screening Fees. Wir bemühen uns darum, RegisseurInnen von Festivalfilmen zu den Vorführungen nach München einzuladen und die Reise- bzw. Hotelkosten anteilig zu erstatten. Daneben besteht für alle Filme in den Wettbewerbsreihen und darüber hinaus für alle Festivalfilme die Möglichkeit, in verschiedenen reihenübergreifenden Wettbewerben (SOS Kinderdörfer weltweit, Dokumentarfilmmusikpreis, ARRI AMIRA Kamerapreis, FFF-Förderpreis) einen Preis zu gewinnen. Ansprüche auf Kostenübernahme oder auf eine andere Form der Vergütung bestehen nicht.

11. Streaming-Angebot für akkreditierte BesucherInnen des DOK.fest

Für den jeweils aktuellen Festivaljahrgang entwickelt das DOK.fest einen Online Screening Room, der PressevertreterInnen und speziellen akkreditierten BesucherInnen im Vorfeld und während des Festivals zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

Wir gehen davon aus, dass Sie mit diesem Angebot einverstanden sind. Sollten Sie Einwände haben, teilen Sie uns diese bitte umgehend nach der Zusage mit.

12. Geltung dieser Teilnahmebedingungen

Mit Abschluss der Registrierung auf dem Onlineformular erkennen Sie die Geltung dieser Teilnahmebedingungen an. Diese Teilnahmebedingungen gelten für alle aktuellen Filmeinreichungen und zwar auch dann, wenn sie nicht nochmals ausdrücklich vereinbart worden sind. Abweichende Bedingungen erkennt das DOK.fest selbst bei deren Kenntnis nicht an, es sei denn, das DOK.fest hat ausdrücklich schriftlich ihrer Geltung zugestimmt.

13. Gerichtsstand, Geltung deutschen Rechts

Als Gerichtsstand wird soweit zulässig München vereinbart. Es gilt das Recht der Bundesrepublik Deutschland unter Ausschluss der Kollisionsnormen.

 

Das Reglement als PDF