Pitch Award sponsored by Haus des Dokumentarfilms 2019

Winner Nathalie Berger during the Pitch Award 2019

The PITCH AWARD 2019 – sponsered by the Haus des Dokumentarfilms Stuttgart – goes to Nathalie Berger from the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHDK) for her Filmproject CHAGRIN VALLEY

"Nathalie Berger treats the socially relevant topic of dementia sensitively and critically in her film project. She has found a surprising place in a small town in Ohio (USA): a nursing home in which dementia patients fake a fictitious world from their own past in order to escape reality, frustration and the pain of forgetting. A service that costs a lot of money. The filmmaker takes a differentiated look at the residents and their carers, asks important questions about identity and its loss, and focuses on the social inequalities between staff and residents. With her cinematic language, the director wants to bring this current topic into a visually stunning experience in a completely new world for us. We congratulate Nathalie Berger and wish her all the best for the future".


A pitch award for emerging filmmakers

The pitch competition offers students from our partner universities the opportunity to further develop their current projects in exchange with editors, producers and distributors as part of the DOK.forum marketplace and to win new financing partners. The prize for the best student pitch is donated by Haus des Dokumentarfilms Stuttgart and is endowed with 2,500 euros in project funding.


Selection process

An independent selection committee selects a total of 9 participants. At a closed event in May 2020 at the University of Television and Film Munich, the participants will present their projects in three rounds, three to four jurors each, individually and without technical aids. This will be followed by Q&A and feedback. Each project will be presented at a total of three tables.

Participation in the Pitch Award is free of charge for accepted projects.


Jury 2019:

Burkhard Althoff, ZDF, Das kleine Fernsehspiel (D)
Anne­Kathrin Brinkmann, ZDF/Arte (D)
Antje Böhmert, DOCDAYS Productions (D)
Petra Felber, BR (D)
Timo Großpietsch, NDR (D)
Georg Gruber, Magnet Films (D)
Jutta Krug, WDR (D)
Chatherine Le Goff, ARTE (F)
Aline Schmid, Beauvoir Films (CH)
Siegfried Steinlechner, ORF (AT)
Esther van Messel, First Hand Films (CH)
Marcus Vetter, SWR (D)
Ralph Wieser, Mischief Films (AT) 

Selected Projects 2019


Participating universites

The students of the following universities were invited to submit their projects for the Pitch Award 2019:

DFFB, Berlin
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Ludwigsburg
Filmakademie Wien
Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf
HFBK Hamburg
HFF München
HFG Karlsruhe
IFS Köln
KHM Köln
Kunsthochschule Kassel
Macromedia, München
ZeLIG, Bozen
ZHdK, Zürich




Review 2018

Jury representative Petra Felber, BR, and prize donor Dr. Irene Klünder, Haus des Dokumentarfilms Stuttgart

The Pitch Award spnsored by Haus des Dokumentarfilms 2018 went to MERCI DE VOTRE VISITE by Julia Furer. Find here the project overview 2018


Jury 2018

Tobias Cassau, ZDF/arte (D)
Petra Felber, BR (D)
Jutta Krug, WDR (D)
Catherine Le Goff, arte (F)
Siegfried Steinlechner, ORF (AT)
Marcus Vetter, SWR (D)
Christian von Brockhausen, NDR (D)

Ralph Wieser, Mischief Films (AT)
Carl-Ludwig Rettinger, Lichtblick Film (D)
Aline Schmid, Beauvoir Films (CH)

Esther van Messel, First Hand Films (CH)

Dr. Grit Lemke (D)