Jury Documentary Film Music Award 2017

Martina Eisenreich

Composer

Martina Eisenreich was accepted for composition as a junior student  at the Music Academy Munich. She completed her degree there, while also taking classes in film music as well as sound design at the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg.  A number of films, for which she composed the film music, have received prestigious awards (incl. short film Oscar as well as the international student Oscar). Furthermore, Martina Eisenreich tours through Europe with her own ensembles, teaches film music at the Academy of Film and Television (HFF) Munich and received the Cultural Award from her hometown Erding. In 2014 her works were awarded the prize of Deutsche Schallplatenkritik (NOVEMBER 1918) and the Rolf-Hans-Müller Prize (BE MY BABY). A close cooperation with the director Axel Ranisch. In 2016 she was accepted at David Newman’s and Angel Velez’s film conducting class in Los Angeles and works on both, European and American film productions since then.

.

 

Siegfried Friedrich

Composer

Friedrich has studied composition at the Music Academy Vienna, where he was taught by Iván Eröd and Erich Urbanner. He also attended courses for computer music and electronic media. After completing his degree in 1997 in film music at Klaus Peter Sattler’s class, he started working as a composer for the Zang-Studios in Mannheim. Afterwards, he completed his Phd in music science in Vienna under the supervision of Hartmut Krones (2011). He works in a wide range of fields – from compositions, incidental music, sound installations to film music. His works have received multiple awards (incl. Hauptpreis E.v. Karajan Kulturfond 2005 and scholarship holder at Cité internationale des Arts in Paris). His music for DREAMS REWIRED won the Documentary Music Award at DOK.fest Munich in 2016 and was also nominated for the Austrian Film Prize 2017. 

Paul Hertel

Compsoer

Since 1982, Hertel has done a variety of works for several international TV – and film productions (i.e. the entire sound design for the ORF millennial series 1000 JAHRE ÖSTERREICH – ES IST EIN GUTES LAND). At the 12th “Fair Film Festival”, he has been awarded the Honorary Degree “Best Composer of Film Music”. His film music for DER GUTE ORT entailed the acceptance at the Free Academy of the Arts Mannheim (the only Austrian thus far to receive these honours). Furthermore, Hertel composes and produces music for image -, industry and nature films as well as background music for a number of series.

 

Kaspar Kasics

Documentary filmmaker, author and film producer

Born in Interlaken, Kaspar Kasics studied music at the conservatories in Basel and Zurich. He also studied German studies, philosophy and history at the University of Zurich and completed his studies with a Phd. He worked as an editor and TV presenter  at the Swiss Television. Since 1990 he is an independent film director and producer. Since 2010, Kasic is once again the president of the association of film directing and scriptwriting Switzerland, a position he already held from 1996 until 200. He is also a member of the film commisson Switzerland and the cultural commission of Suisseimage. Furthermore, he is a lecturerer at the Academy of the Arts Luzern.

Maria Knilli

Director, Tittel & Knilli Filmproduktion München

Maria Knilli, born in Graz in 1959, raised in Berlin. Graduate of the University for TV and Film Munich. Freelance writer and director since 1980. Cinema films, TV detective films, theater productions, documentary films, lecturer at the University for TV and Film Munich and the Academy of Film Baden-Württemberg. Member of the German Academy of Performing Arts and the German Film Academy. Awards (selection): German Film Award for “Best Director”, Munich Film Award, Austrian Award for Film Art.

Jury Dokumentarfilmmusikpreis 2017

Martina Eisenreich

Komponistin

Martina Eisenreich wird früh an der Musikhochschule München als Jungstudentin der Komposition aufgenommen, absolviert dort und an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg zusätzlich die Fächer Filmmusik und Sounddesign. Mehrere Filme, für die sie die Filmmusik verfasste, werden mit renommierten Preisen ausgezeichnet (darunter der Kurzfilm-Oscar und der internationale Studenten-Oscar). Martina Eisenreich tourt in europaweiter Konzerttätigkeit mit eigenen Ensembles, unterrichtet Filmmusik an der HFF München und erhält u.a. den Kulturpreis ihres Heimatlandkreises Erding. 2014 werden ihre Arbeiten mit dem Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik (NOVEMBER 1918) und dem Rolf-Hans Müller Preis (BE MY BABY) ausgezeichnet. Es entsteht eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Regisseur Axel Ranisch. 2016 wird sie in Los Angeles von David Newman und Angel Velez in deren Film Conducting Klasse aufgenommen und arbeitet seither an europäischen und amerikanischen Filmproduktionen.

Siegfried Friedrich

Komponist

Friedrich studierte Komposition bei Iván Eröd und Erich Urbanner an der Musikhochschule Wien. Zusätzlich besuchte er ebenda den Lehrgang für Computermusik und elektronische Medien. Nach dem Abschluss 1997 (mag. art.) postgraduale Studien der Filmmusik (bei Klaus Peter Sattler). Ab 2000 als Komponist für die Zang-Studios in Mannheim tätig; danach Doktoratsstudium der Musikwissenschaft in Wien bei Hartmut Krones; 2011 Promotion (Dr. phil.). Kompositorische Tätigkeit auf dem Gebiet der konzertanten Musik; Bühnenmusik; Klanginstallationen sowie Filmmusik. Friedrichs Arbeit wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet (u. a. Hauptpreis des E. v. Karajan Kulturfonds 2005; Stipendiat der Cité internationale des Arts in Paris, 2011). Seine Musik zu DREAMS REWIRED gewann 2016 den Dokumentarfilmmusikpreis beim DOK.fest München und wurde für den Österreichischen Filmpreis 2017 nominiert.

Paul Hertel

Komponist

Seit 1982 hat Hertel zahlreiche Arbeiten für diverse internationale Fernseh- und Filmproduktionsfirmen verfasst, so z.B. die Musik und das gesamte Musikdesign zur offiziellen ORF-Millenniums-Serie 1000 JAHRE ÖSTERREICH – ES IST EIN GUTES LAND. Beim 12. Internationalen "Fajr Film Festival" wurde er mit dem Honorary Degree "Best Composer of Film Music" geehrt. Für die Filmmusik zu DER GUTE ORT wurde er – als bis dato einziger Vertreter Österreichs auf dem Gebiet der Musik – in die Freie Akademie der Künste Mannheim aufgenommen. Außerdem komponiert und produziert Hertel Musik für Image-, Industrie-, und Naturfilme, sowie für diverse Backgroundmusic-Serien & Signations.

Kaspar Kasics

Dokumentarfilmer, Autor und Filmproduzent

Geboren in Interlaken, studierte Kaspar Kasics Musik am Konservatorien Basel und Zürich sowie Germanistik, Philosophie und Geschichte an der Universität Zürich und schloss sein Studium mit einer Promotion ab. Fünf Jahre lang war er als Redakteur, Realisator und Moderator beim Schweizer Fernsehen tätig. Seit 1990 ist er selbständiger Filmregisseur und Filmproduzent. Wie schon von 1996 bis 2001 ist Kasics seit 2010 wieder Präsident des Verbandes Filmregie und Drehbuch Schweiz. Er ist Mitglied der Eidgenössischen Filmkommission und der Kulturkommission der Suissimage. Darüber hinaus ist Kasics Dozent an der Hochschule der Künste in Luzern.

Maria Knilli

Regisseurin, Tittel & Knilli Filmproduktion München

Maria Knilli, geboren 1959 in Graz, aufgewachsen in Berlin, studierte Regie an der HFF München. Seit 1980 ist sie als freischaffende Autorin und Regisseurin tätig. Neben der Regie für Kinofilme, TV Krimis, Theaterinszenierungen, Theaterverfilmungen und Dokumentarfilme übernahm sie Lehrtätigkeiten an der HFF München und der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. Maria Knilli ist Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Darstellenden Künste und der Deutschen Filmakademie. Sie wurde u.a. mit dem Bundesfilmpreis für Regie, dem Filmpreis München sowie dem Österreichischen Förderpreis für Filmkunst ausgezeichnet.